2016 Chicago Symposium on Translational Neuroscience

"Ion Channels and Neurological Disease"

May 13, 2016

The University of Chicago Medicine
Knapp Center for Biomedical Discovery (KCBD)
900 E 57th St.
Chicago, IL 60637
First Floor Auditorium (KCBD 1103)

Registration Deadline: April 15, 2016
Cost to Register: None
Breakfast & Lunch will be provided

Breakfast: 9:00am
On site Registration: CLOSED
Introductions: 10:00am

click here for driving directions to the campus
click here for on campus directions to the KCBD
click here for hotel information - Hyatt Place Chicago-South University Medical Center


2016 Speakers:

William A. Catterall PhD
Professor and Chair, Department of Pharmacology
University of Washington

Lecture Title: "Electrical Signaling at Atomic Resolution: From Structure to Therapy"
view abstract

Jian Payandeh PhD
Genentech, Inc.

Lecture Title: "Visualizing the Holy Grail of Sodium Channel Pharmacology: Nav1.7 and Beyond"
view abstract


Lunch Break

Louis J. Ptáček MD
Professor, Department of Neurology
University of California, San Francisco

Lecture Title: "Clinical, Genetic, and Physiological Characterization of Episodic Neurological Disorders"
view abstract

Miriam H. Meisler PhD
Myron Levine Distinguished University Professor
Professor of Human Genetics
Professor of Neurology
University of Michigan

Lecture Title: "De novo, Gain-of-Function Mutations of Sodium Channel SCN8A in Epileptic Encephalopathy"
view abstract


Break & Photos

Steve Cannon MD PhD
Professor and Chair, Department of Physiology
University of California, Los Angeles

Lecture Title: "Mechanism-Based Therapeutics in Periodic Paralysis"
view abstract

Jeffrey L. Noebels MD PhD
Professor, Neurology, Neuroscience, and Molecular & Human Genetics
Director, Blue Bird Circle Developmental Neurogenetics Laboratory
Baylor College of Medicine

Lecture Title: "Mutant Ion Channels, Killer Waves, and Sudden Unexpected Death"
view abstract

Symposium Steering Committee:
Christopher M. Gomez MD PhD Christopher M. Gomez MD PhD
Albina Y. Surbis Professor and Chair
Department of Neurology

Francisco Bezanilla PhD
Lillian Eichelberger Cannon Professor
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
The University of Chicago

Alfred L. George MD
Chair, Department of Pharmacology
Director, Center for Pharmacogenomics
Magerstadt Professor of Pharmacology
Northwestern University


Symposium Organizer
Marla Scofield Marla Scofield
Education Administrator
Department of Neurology